What is Hare Krishna?
Hare Krishna is a religious movement in the Gaudiya Vaishnavism branch of Hinduism. This movement was founded by A. C. Bhaktivedanta Swami Prabhupada, also known as Srila Prabhupada, in 1966 in New York City. It is formally known as ISKCON, or International Society for Krishna Consciousness.

Who is Srila Prabhupada?
Srila Prabhupada is the founder of the International Society for Krishna Consciousness (ISKCON), commonly known as the Hare Krishna movement. He was born in India in 1896, where he lived and received his spiritual training before traveling to the United States. He opened more than 100 centers worldwide, and translated and published over 40 volumes of spiritual books. He passed from this world in 1977.

What are the basic beliefs of Hare Krishna?
The beliefs of Hare Krishna are based on Hindu scriptures, specifically the Bhagavad-gita and Srimad Bhagavatam. Hare Krishna devotees practice bhakti-yoga, the spiritual path of loving devotion towards the Lord, Krishna, as described in the Bhagavad-gita. The philosophy of bhakti-yoga teaches that every living being is an eternal spirit whose purpose is to develop a personal relationship with Krishna through love and service.

Who is Krishna?
Krishna is the speaker of the Bhagavad-gita, a scripture recognized worldwide as one of mankind's greatest books of wisdom. In this book, Krishna says repeatedly that He is God Himself, the source of everything.

What is the history of the Hare Krishna Movement?
Five hundred years ago Sri Chaitanya Mahaprabhu, the most recent incarnation of Krishna, taught by His own example that one can live the essence of Bhagavad-gita by chanting Krishna 's holy names:

Hare Krishna, Hare Krishna, Krishna Krishna, Hare Hare
Hare Rama, Hare Rama, Rama Rama, Hare Hare

Sri Krishna and Sri Chaitanya Mahaprabhu both taught bhakti-yoga, the spiritual practice of connecting with God through devotional service to Him. Based on Their teachings, Srila Prabhupada established ISKCON and thus Krishna Consciousness in Western countries.